Friday, October 7 2022

NASA’s next big lunar mission has been spotted from space.

Image provider Earth Planet has captured a stunning view of the stacked Artemis 1 Space Launch System (SLS) lunar rocket and its Orion spacecraft on the launch pad at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

“Good luck to the team as they prepare to launch their most powerful rocket yet that will send an unmanned Orion crew capsule around the moon,” Planet wrote in a post. Tweeter (opens in a new tab) about the SkySat video, recorded on Thursday (August 25).

Related: NASA’s Artemis 1 Lunar Mission: Live Updates
After: 10 unusual facts about the Artemis 1 lunar mission

See more

Artemis 1 is scheduled to launch from Pad 39B at Kennedy Space Center at 8:33 a.m. EDT (1233 GMT) at the start of a two-hour liftoff window. There is an 80% chance of good weather at launch. You can watch the launch live online Monday from 6:30 a.m. EDT (10:30 a.m. GMT).

Artemis 1 will send the sensor-filled Orion spacecraft around the moon for an approximately 42-day mission (mission duration depends on launch time). assignments.

NASA is working to get Artemis 1 flying well to prepare for future human missions. It plans to launch the Artemis 2 mission in 2024, with four missions on board. This mission will be followed by Artemis 3, the first crewed lunar landing, in 2025 or 2026 if all goes well.

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace (opens in a new tab). Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom (opens in a new tab) Where Facebook (opens in a new tab).

Previous

Gaga Ball tends to Powell; Eagle Scout candidate builds arena for family sport | Wyoming

Next

The Chamber explores the role of cities in county development -

Check Also