Thursday, December 1 2022



FILE – February 21, 2021, file photo Serbian Novak Djokovic holds the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup after beating Russia’s Daniil Medvedev in the men’s singles final at the Australian Open tennis championship in Melbourne, Australia . Players who have not been vaccinated against COVID-19 are unlikely to obtain a visa to enter the country for the Australian Open next January, according to the political head of the state hosting the major opening of the season. (AP Photo / Hamish Blair, file)


Premier Novak Djokovic and US Open champion Daniil Medvedev head the lists announced Monday for the Davis Cup final which begins next month.

Djokovic, a 20-time major champion who lost a victory before a Grand Slam of the calendar year in 2021, is joined in the Serbian squad by Filip Krajinovic, Dusan Lajovic, Laslo Djere and Miomir Kekmanovic.

Medvedev, who is ranked No.2 and won his first Grand Slam title by beating Djokovic in the final at Flushing Meadows in September, leads a Russian squad that includes No.6 Andrey Rublev, No.19 Aslan Karatsev, No ° 30 Karen Khachanov and Evgeny Donskoy.

Eighteen countries will take part in group stage matches from 25 November on hard indoor courts in Madrid; Innsbruck, Austria; and Turin, Italy. After the quarter-finals in these cities, the semi-finals and the final will take place in Madrid.

Spain are defending champions thanks to their 2019 title; the Davis Cup was canceled last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Here are the complete lists, sorted by group for the opening phase:


Group A (Madrid)

Russia: Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy.

Spain: Pablo Carreño Busta, Roberto Bautista Agut, Carlos Alcaraz, Feliciano Lopez, Marcel Granollers

Ecuador: Emilio Gomez, Roberto Quiroz, Diego Hidalgo, Gonzalo Escobar, Cayetano March


Group B (Madrid)

Canada: Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Vasek Pospisil, Brayden Schnur, Peter Polansky

Kazakhstan: Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Aleksandr Nedovyesov, Andrey Golubev

Sweden: Elias Ymer, Mikael Ymer, Jonathan Mridha, Andre Goransson


Group C (Innsbruck)

France: Ugo Humbert, Arthur Rinderknech, Richard Gasquet, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Mahut

Great Britain: Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans, Joe Salisbury, Neal Skupski

Czech Republic: Jiri Vesely, Tomas Machac, Zdenek Kolar, Jiri Lehecka, Lukas Rosol


Group D (Turin)

Croatia: Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Borna Gojo, Nikola Mektic, Mate Pavic

Australia: Alex de Minaur, John Millman, Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, John Peers

Hungary: Marton Fucsovics, Attila Balazs, Zsombor Marozsan, Mate Valkusz


Group E (Turin)

United States: John Isner, Reilly Opelka, Taylor Fritz, Jack Sock, Rajeev Ram

Italy: Matteo Berrettini, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini, Lorenzo Musetti

Colombia: Daniel Galan, Nicolas Mejia, Juan Sebastian Cabal, Robert Farah


Group F (Innsbruck)

Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Filip Krajinovic, Dusan Lajovic, Laslo Djere, Miomir Kecmanovic

Germany: Jan Lennard Struff, Dominik Koepfer, Peter Gojowczyk, Kevin Krawietz, Tim Puetz

Austria: Dennis Novak, Jurij Rodionov, Gerald Melzer, Oliver Marach, Philipp Oswald



What's new this week: Hocus Pocus, Tower of Fright, Halloween festivities and more


Wintrust Arena Gameday STUDENT Guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also