Thursday, December 1 2022



MIAMI, Florida – The Florida State Swim and Dive teams opened the 2021-22 season by winning the TYR Classic at Biscayne Bay Campus Aquatics Center.

As the second and final day of competition approached, the ladies (217) held a slight advantage over host team CRF (213) after Friday’s session.

With two student-athletes in each race allowed to score only in their entered heat, the women won seven of 16 rounds to claim the team title over FIU (408) with a total of 437 points.

The men finished the competition with a total of 517.5 points, well ahead of TCU (321) and Pitt (312).

“We had a great day today,” said FSU head coach Neal Studd. “The ladies turned a small lead overnight into a huge win. They were exceptional today and dominated the competition. The men continued their momentum from yesterday and performed well.

The women started the day with a victory in the 200 IM relay with a time of 1: 41.23 behind Tania Quaglieri, Nina Kucheran, Jenny Halden and Rebecca Moynihan.

Ginevra Molino followed with a second place in the 500 freestyle (5: 03.00) before Kucheran won the 200 breaststroke (2: 15.29) by a hundredth of a second. Rookie Maddy Huggins added valuable points in ninth place with a time of 2: 19.54, almost two seconds ahead of the next competitor in her race.

Maddie McDonald placed second in the 200 backstroke with a time of 2: 01.42, but Quaglieri won the ‘B’ race in 2: 02.77.

The Seminoles won three straight events to end the competition, as Moynihan touched first in the 100 freestyle in 51.06 and Hannah Womer won the 200 butterfly by almost two seconds in 2: 01.39.

Once again, Kucheran won a close race, touching first in the 200 IM with a time of 2: 03.94.

In diving, Samantha Vear was second in the 1m with a score of 295.50 and Kayleigh Clark was 10th (266.85).

Gloria Muzito, Womer, Halden and Moynihan’s team finished second in the 400 freestyle relay (3: 24.54) to finish the competition.

The men won seven of nine events on Saturday, starting with the 200 medley relay behind Mason Herbet, Izaak Bastian, Max McCusker and Blake Moran with a time of 1: 38.51.

Bastian followed with a victory in the 200 breaststroke (2: 01.33) and Herbet touched first in the 200 backstroke (1: 48.35).

Varjasi won the 100 freestyle with 44.87, and Herbet added another victory by dominating the 200 IM in 1: 48.68.

On the boards, Jesco Helling took the 3-meter victory, scoring 343.55 to win the event with just under eight points. Darwin Nolasco finished 11th (286.65).

“Another good day today,” said FSU head diving coach John Proctor. “I think we have good benchmarks from which we are heading towards the next competitions in duels. “

The Seminoles closed the competition by winning the 400 freestyle relay behind McCusker, Arijus Pavlidi, Moran and Varjasi at 3: 00.98.

The State of Florida will host Auburn on October 15 at 2 p.m. at the Morcom Aquatics Center.

For more information, visit Facebook (FSUSwimmingDiving), Twitter (@FSU_Swimming) and Instagram (@fsuswimdive).




Seaside CERT Team Hosts Convention Center Preparation Event | Community


Pirates sack 3B coach Joey Cora after 5 seasons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also